Tune-ology: He’s My Son

Today’s tuneology has quickly become a touchy one for my heart.

My new friend and fellow blogger, Chris Martin (link here), sent me his book, “I Was There.” (purchase here)

This powerful set of stories put a new insight into play from the perspective of the people involved.  Each one is a story from the Bible that Chris has brought new and fantastic points of view to in ways you never imagined.  Above all, my favorite part is how Chris brings to light the humanity of the people involved with each of these powerful stories the way he tells them from their perspective.  You start to connect and understand things, learn things, that you never saw before no matter how many times you have heard it.

The first of these stories is of Abraham and his feelings and heart when God asked him to sacrifice his only son, Isaac.

I don’t want to ruin anything, but I want you to understand what I learned that I never saw before.

Abraham loved his son, but He loved God on a level that was even above that because of how he was willing to do as God had commanded him.  That kind of trust, faith and love blows my mind.  I know how much I love my son – and I am supposed to love God even more than that – just as Abraham did.  Never before had I ever seen or understood this truth from this story.  I think becoming a father put a new perspective on it.  Amazing how life’s changes open God’s word to our hearts in a whole new way.

All of that being said, my mind and my heart went directly to the song by Mark Schultz entitled, “He’s My Son.”

Mark Schultz He's My Son

Mark tells a wonderful story about how this song came to be.  He was a youth sponsor and got a call from a parent. Their son had been having pain in his hands.  They took him to see the Doctor and they ran tests.  The Doctor came back and told them the good news was there was nothing wrong with their sons hand, however the bad news was that the blood test revealed that their son had cancer.

I will spend no more time telling about this story as the song itself speaks the truth of what Mark felt, heard and was a part of in conjunction with the parents as they went through the process of the cancer with their son.  Listen to the words as he sings, read the lyrics along as well as you go.

But above all – PLEASE LISTEN TO WHAT MARK SAYS ON THE RECORDING AFTER THE SONG IS OVER!

And think about this – what are willing to sacrifice to be able to love and serve your heavenly Father the way you are called to?

Matthew 22:37

And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.

He’s My Son

Lyrics and Music by Mark Schultz

I’m down on my knees again tonight,
I’m hoppin’ this prayer will turn out right.
See, there is a boy that needs Your help.
I’ve done all that I can do myself
His mother is tired,
I’m sure You can understand.
Each night as he sleeps
She goes in to hold his hand,
And she tries
Not to cry
As the tears fill her eyes.

Can You hear me?
Am I getting through tonight?
Can You see him?
Can You make him feel all right?
If You can hear me
Let me take his place some how.
See, he’s not just anyone, he’s my son.

Sometimes late at night I watch him sleep,
I dream of the boy he’d like to be.
I try to be strong and see him through,
But God, who he needs right now is You.
Let him grow old,
Live life without this fear.
What would I be
Living without him here?
He’s so tired,
And he’s scared
Let him know that You’re there.

Can You hear me?
Am I getting through tonight?
Can You see him?
Can You make him feel all right?
If You can hear me
Let me take his place some how.
See, he’s not just anyone, he’s my son.

Can You hear me?
Am I getting through tonight?
Can You see him?
Can You make him feel all right?
If You can hear me
Let me take his place somehow.
See, he’s not just anyone.

Can You hear me?
Can You see him?
Please don’t leave him,
He’s my son.

About Luke David

Pastor, Songwriter, Poet, Jayhawk Fan, Husband, Father and Child of the One True King! View all posts by Luke David

Leave a comment