MM – Poem 5 (So Right, So Wrong)

The “Poetic Octet” continues with Part 5…

The fear that accompanies the commitment of real relationship and the doubt of what is true begins to surface.  There is that point in every relationship where questions may arise, where one or the other allows themselves to ask the tough questions.

Much of this I believe is appropriate as it is a protection of the heart.  Poem 5 opens up that door that I believe each and every person goes through at some point in a relationship – whether friend, family, spouse, etc.  The longing that was there is affirmed when the two are together, but as the short time together ends and they must once again separate, what is important and what the relationship truly means must come to definition.

There is pain in the question – but it is a pain that can be alleviated by a decision just simply being made.

Above all, we begin to see a major theme change – we begin to uncover the theological view that ties to this whole process.  We are not just tying an earthly relationship up in struggle, but our relationship with our heavenly Father.  We are in this world and among all that it loves – but we are called to be of Christ.  There is a “wave” in which this poem is shaped and it truly is a representation of the roller coaster ride we take in our relationships on every level and the mountains and valley’s that we put ourselves through.

There is a struggle that must unfold – a battle that must be fought – but a trust must emerge if we are to accomplish both a victory and a real connection.

Am I so right or so wrong?

Poem 5 (So Right, So Wrong)

When you smile,

                something inside me stirs.

                Your bright eyes light up,

and my mind,

which only seeks for truth,

                finds only more confusion.

I know my heart is with another,

and I wonder about yours.

                Do we simply defy logic,

                is it so right, so wrong.

I know my heart is with another,

                or is it simply playing games.

                Maybe I want to defy truth,

maybe I am closing my eyes,

maybe I am closing my heart.

                When our lips met,

inside I only felt joy,

I only longed to hold you more.

                I also found inside myself,

                as you were with another,

feeling jealousy for want of you.

                Do you hold the truth,

                do you know the answer,

                am I so right, so wrong.

About Luke David

Pastor, Songwriter, Poet, Jayhawk Fan, Husband, Father and Child of the One True King! View all posts by Luke David

Leave a comment